Derek

FFExtreme Forums Return!

After nearly 8 years since the old forums were locked down by previous ownership, the Final Fantasy Extreme Forums have returned with a fresh start on modern software.

But who am I? I'm a veteran of the old FFE and now the owner of the new FFE as of 2016. Besides helping the site out back in the day, it also was a critical moment that lead me on the career as a web designer and developer. I started work on the new FFE a mere week after completing the purchase but development has experienced multiple delays due to various time constraints with my other responsibilities. However, I am very optimistic the site will be released this year!

But with the site still having a few months of work until it's ready, I shifted focus a month ago for an early release for the forums. I scrapped the old idea of using bbPress and ported the work onto Invision Community software for a better, full-featured experience.

Hello Invision Community

For almost two decades, the forums were hosted on vBulletin software. The main decision to switch to Invision was to offer a better user experience than what is currently seen in vBulletin 4+, Xenforo and bbPress. I had considered experimenting with some next-gen forum software like Discourse but ultimately wanted to bring a modernized experience with that traditional forum feel.

I'm still open to experimenting with other forum software if it fits better for our needs than Invision. If we do decide to change at a later date, all data will be ported to the new software - nothing will be lost.

The Past Meets the Future! (Beta)

The new forums sport a redesign of the FFEv5 theme that meets current design trends (simpler and flatter), runs on better tech and is mobile ready - while still providing homage to the 1.5 decades old original design. Created for the new FFE site , I took the last month to port it over to the Invision software and modify the software's default styles to match. With that said...